06
Apr
10

Hot Tub TIme Machine

My spring break this year was nothing special…I went back home to Pittsburgh like I usually do. Of course I would have loved to go to the beach, but my bank account did not allow me to do that. That said I did go on a trip for a few hours. I went on a trip back in time to the 1980’s when I went to the movies to see the Hot Tub Time Machine.

Many reviews floating around the internet were not too fond of the comedy which starred actors John Cusack, Craig Robinson and Rob Corddry. I thought that not only was the movie hilarious, but it was somewhat rewarding to watch for those who grew up in the eighties or like me, were forced to watch the movies made in the eighties by their parents.

The entire film is a nice tribute to the films that were made in the eighties. Beginning with the casting of the main character being John Cusack who was one of the kings of the eighties movies. He was in several popular 80’s flicks such as Better Off Dead and Say Anything. In the movie there are several little and big parts of scenes that emulate  certain parts of popular movies of the 1980’s. Here are just a few.

  1. Skiing in the film was one of the main hobbies of the title character Lane in Better Off Dead and when the characters go back in time the first thing they do is hit the slopes.
  2. After the group skis in the movie a conversation on an over-sized cell phone has a guy utter the words “I want my two dollars”, which is a famous line that was constantly repeated throughout Better Off Dead.
  3. In the film John Cusack’s character and his love interest (played by Lizzy Caplan sit on a counter in front of a candle light in the same position as the characters in the famous scene from Sixteen Candles.
  4. The character in the film played by Craig Robinson plays a song from the future with his band, much like the character Marty McFly does in the movie Back to The Future.
  5. The bell hop in The Hot Tub Time Machine is played by the same actor who played George McFly in the original Back to the Future movie. Other hidden eighties movie tributes can be seen here.

Overall the film was entertaining and that was all that mattered to me. No it is not as inspiring as Good Will Hunting and it is not as funny as Wedding Crashers, but it is still something you should check out. Rob Corddry’s steals the show in Hot Tub Time Machine. His crazy drunkin perverted character really made the movie for me. He was hilarious, vulgar, and rude…everything you can ask for in a character in a rated R comedy.

I thought that the movie was definitely worth my money and worth yours as well…especially if you are someone who just cannot get enough of the famous tacky movies that were made in the 1980’s.

0 Responses to “Hot Tub TIme Machine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


